Day 21 of my 40 day new skincare routine

Right, I don’t know how to say this, but I sort of ditched all the products (except for the Clarisonic Mia 2) I’ve been using for the last 3 weeks.

Maybe it was impatience, maybe it was the fact that I wasn’t able to follow the same routine when I visited my parents or maybe it was the fact that the Liz Earle and Philosophy products didn’t really do anything for me besides smelling nice. 

I don’t want to bash Liz Earle, 

as the brand and products are really nice and cruelty free. 

(Please note: Liz Earle is part of the Walgreens Boots group who don’t do animal testing themselves, but their suppliers might.) 

I didn’t react to the Liz Earle or Philosophy products, but I could tell that they didn’t do anything for my spots or oily skin. 

If you look back on my previous entries, the spots on my chin have mostly shrunk, but as I said before, I would’ve expected this anyways as they’re hormonal and they were at its worst when I was menstruating and starting this new routine. 

Overall I think Liz Earle would probably work better for someone with normal to minimal skin imperfections. The products are gentle enough and should work for sensitive skin as well. 

It’s just when you have problems with oily or acne prone skin, it’s not enough. 

So, when I arrived in Germany my mum gave me a small box filled with Lavera, Sante and Alverde skincare products (all vegan and all natural) and a Vichy Normaderm Hyaluspot spot treatment. 

You can probably imagine how intrigued I was. She bought all items at a german drugstore (DM). She knows how much I’ve been struggling with my skin all my adult life and I couldn’t thank her enough. 

I’ve only been using them for a couple days, but I already really like the moisturisers better than the Liz Earle Light moisturiser (which always left me too oily).

IMG_1114

From left to right: 

Sante refreshing facial cleanser with organic Aloe Vera & Chia seed extract 

Price: €7.95 (about £6.50)

This is very wobbly/jelly like and watery. I love how it feels and how it doesn’t dry my skin out. 

Alverde Clear facial fluid (moisturiser) with clay 

Price: €3.95 (about £3.00)

This reminds me a bit of Cliniques extended moisture surge, it seems to be perfect for my combination skin and oily t-zone. Not sure yet, if it will help with my impurities though. 

Lavera pore refining moisturising fluid with organic mint, zinc and salicylic acid

Price: €3.45 (about £2.95)

Love the ingredients, but this makes my skin a bit tight, only for a short while though. I love the minty smell. 

Lavera SOS Blemish Control with organic mint, zinc and salicylic acid

Price: around €4.95 (about £4.00)

I have only used this once so far, but it’s a fantastic price and the ingredients in this are great. 

IMG_1115

Vichy Normaderm Hyaluspot with hyaluronic acid, salicylic acid and LHA

Price: around €10.00 (about £8.95)

I have used this day and night for the last two days. After the first night, my big encapsulated spot on my chin has reduced in size. It hasn’t changed much since then, but I do believe that I will see results in a few days. 

As you can tell, I have two moisturisers to choose from, I will probably alternate the two and see how they work with make up. I can already tell you, that I like the Alverde more though. It just leaves my skin so nice and soft. I guess it feels like it’s doing more for me.

Here is my skin this morning after cleansing and moisturising. (Please note: the spots on my chin look much angrier in real life, the photo is flattering them a bit)

IMG_1111 (Edited)

Vichy Spot treatment aside (not everyone wants or needs this), this routine would cost me less than repurchasing the Liz Earle line and Philosophy Purity Cleanser. (Liz Earle £45 on offer and Philosophy £18)

= £63 vs £16.45 (excl. the Vichy Spot treatment)

Price difference: £46.55

You can see why I’d be VERY happy, if those German products worked for me. 

I won’t be repurchasing any of the products until I’ve ran out of all the items that I own currently (incl. the Liz Earle and Philosophy stuff), but it will definitely be interesting to see, which items really make a difference.

I’d also like to mention that as of Monday (20th of march) I’ve started a dairy free diet which will last 28 days. 

I’m a big believer that skin concerns need to be tackled from the inside as well as outside. If an impurity reaches the outer layer of our skin it’s already way too late, that’s why I’d like to stop these things before they even occur. 

Dairy products seem to agree with very few people and although I did a lactose intolerance test ages ago (which came back negative) I do believe that I have some sort of sensitivity. 

And I guess, if it’s not that, it might be gluten. But my god, are they hard to avoid 😉

An update on my diet, the new (vegan) skincare products and progress will be posted soon. 

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

