Shopping for happiness…

Reasons why I needed to go shopping:

  • It’s a sunny day
  • It’s a rainy day
  • I had a great hair day
  • It’s date night
  • There’s a sale on
  • There’s a sale with further reductions on
  • I was bored
  • I was stressed
  • I needed something (that I didn’t really need)
  • I needed to treat myself
  • I had a 10% off voucher
  • I haven’t been shopping in a few days
  • I got paid
  • It’s the weekend
  • I was invited to a party, wedding, etc.

Does any of this sound familiar to you?

That was me then (over a month ago now)
I’ve had that many reasons and more to go into town to buy something.

Looking back on it now makes me a bit sad.
Not only, did I spent lots of money on things I didn’t really need, but I also wasted lots of hours in shops and the worst of it all…
The happiness of buying something new didn’t last very long.

You’d think that taking your hard earned cash and buying shiny new things would make you happy.
But if you reflect back on it now, how often does it ever last longer than a day or even an hour? Probably not too often.
You get your new item stuffed in a bag, you walk out of the store and you can’t quite put your finger on it, but it’s not a feeling of happiness. So, you go into the next store, to buy more “happiness”…

If you’re like me and you’re just at the beginning of your journey to minimalism (mind you, a journey that never really ends) you’ll be either relieved to have jumped off of the hamster wheel that is ‘unnecessarily consuming’ or you’ll be scared of this huge lifestyle change of not consuming so much anymore.

Either way, I’d like you to stop and take a look around you next time you’re in town or in a shopping centre and ask yourself the following questions:

  • Do the people around me look happy?
  • Do they have plenty of shopping bags, and still don’t look happier? Obviously there will be a time, when you need to replace something broken or similar, but that’s an exception.

If shopping solved unhappiness, why are the people around us so miserable looking?

The answer is, shopping doesn’t solve unhappiness.

Less stuff = more happiness.

Now, I’ve never been a mathematical genius, but when you take a lot away from a huge number, you’re left with a small number.
I don’t know about you, but I prefer small numbers (unless it’s my savings account) because I can handle them easier. Big numbers are scary.
In this case the small number at the end is made up of the less stuff you own.

Once you think about it this way, you’ll learn to appreciate the things you do have,
your eyes can rest more and take in what’s really important around you, you will have more money left after your (monthly) bills, you will be less stressed and more relaxed and you will have more time left to do things that really matter to you, because you don’t have to spend countless hours in stores anymore and in return you will be much happier.

Now:

  • I can walk into any shop and buy absolutely nothing. Shops actually bore me right now and I can’t wait to get out of them
  • I don’t meet up with friends anymore to go shopping, I much prefer going for a tea or some other experience like a museum.
  • I don’t have to hurry into town anymore to buy a dress for a special occasion. Instead, I look in my closet and work with what I’ve got.
  • I don’t have 5 moisturisers open at the same time and barely use any of them, I don’t have doubles anymore or 10 different lipsticks.
  • I am much happier and more relaxed
  • I have money left to do things that I enjoy

Today, I got rid of the following items:

  • A plastic flask. I guess at one point I thought of making myself fruit flavoured water. Yeaaah, that never happened once.
  • A jewellery box. I had this for over 10yrs, but it’s been in the storage area of our house for years. So, to the charity shop it goes.
Leave a Reply

